About Me

I have loved mathematics since I was a child and I want to help others enjoy the subject.  Or, at least, not fear it!

I am male and in my middle 60s.  I studied Pure Mathematics (BSc, Sussex University) and then Statistics (MSc, Imperial College), and am a Fellow of the Royal Statistical Society.  I retired in 2008 from the Department of Business Enterprise and Regulatory Reform (previously and probably better known as the Department of Trade and Industry).  At that time I was Deputy Director and Head of Statistics in the Industry Economics Directorate and had spent 30 years working as a statistician in Central Government.  I have since been an independent tutor of mathematics and statistics.

I was drawn to maths tutoring partly through encouraging my three children to enjoy maths and partly through my close and continuing involvement with their first school where I was Chair of Governors for several years and remained a governor until Summer 2016.  

I work on a one-to-one basis with pupils from mid-Secondary, GCSE (including IGCSE) to A-levels.  I have taught the curricula covered by the main boards (Edexcel, AQA and, for A-levels,  OCR).  I have also helped undergraduates with statistical modules.  For the latter, I can advise on questionnaire design, data collection, validation & organisation and statistical analyses and interpretation of results.

I work with pupils with a wide range of abilities and different aspirations. There are some who are confident of an A grade but are aiming for an A*; there are others who are not even sure of getting a Pass.  Individual tuition enables me to help pupils across that range of abilities.  Over the years, I have worked with more than 200 pupils.  For A-levels, I have taught all four Core modules, the first two modules of Decision, Mechanics and Statistics as well as Further Pure 1 to 3.  

In many cases I have worked with younger siblings of former pupils - having established a positive relationship with the family.